COE Faculty and Staff



University of the Southwest

College of Education

Faculty


Dr. Laura Hunt

Dean, College of Education

Assistant Professor of Business


lhunt@usw.edu

MTL 135

Education:

D.B.A., University of the Southwest

M.B.A., Baker College

B.A., Texas Tech University



Dr. Erica Armstrong

Assistant Professor of Education


earmstrong@usw.edu

MTL  127

Education:

Ed.S., Teacher Leadership, Walden University, 2011

M.S., Education Curriculum and Instruction, University of the Southwest, 2003

B.S., Elementary Education, University of the Southwest, 1991

Armstrong CV



Dr. Michael J. Fredrick

Associate Professor - Kinesiology


mfredrick@usw.edu

Education:

P.h.D., University of Utah

MED, University of Missouri

B.S., University of Missouri

B.A., Saint Louis University

A.A., East Central College




Dr. Stephanie Johnson

Associate Professor of Education


skjohnson@usw.edu

Education:

PhD., Colorado State University

M.A., National University

M.A., Regis University

B.S., University of Northern Colorado



Cruz Castillo

Operations Director - College of Education


575-492-2136

ccastillo@usw.edu

Education:

M.B.A., University of the Southwest

B.S., University of the Southwest



Dr. Mary Harris

Professor of Education - Special Education


575-394-2162

MTL 110

mharris@usw.edu      

Education:

Ed.D., Nova Southeastern University, 2004

MSPED, Eastern New Mexico University,1992

B.A., Southeastern Louisiana University,1971

Harris CV



Dr. Tamika Hibbert

Assistant Professor of Education - School Counseling


thibbert@usw.edu

Education:

Ed.D., Argosy University, 2009

M.S.Ed., City University of New York at Brooklyn College, 2002

B.A., City University of New York at Brooklyn College, 2000   

Hibbert CV



Dr. Sandra Johnson

Department Chair, Professional Licensure 

Assistant Professor of Education


sjohnson@usw.edu

Education:

PhD., Curriculum and Instruction, New Mexico State University

M.A.,  Administrative Leadership, Western New Mexico University

M.S., Educational Technology, Walden University

B.S., Secondary Education/Science, New Mexico State University

Johnson CV



Sarah Krohn

Graduate Admissions and Support Director, Ed Diag Program


833-879-4723 x 710

skrohn@usw.edu

Education:

M.B.A.,University of the Southwest

B.S., Trinity University



Dr. Molly Tait

Assistant Professor of Education - Educational Diagnostics

 

mtait@usw.edu

Education:

P.h.D., Texas Woman's University

M.S., Texas Woman's University

B.S., Western Michigan University



Lauren Irwin

Executive Director - School Counseling


833-879-4723 x 713

lirwin@usw.edu

Education:

M.S.E., University of the Southwest

B.S., University of New Mexico



Dr. Keisha Tipton

Associate Dean for Professional Education

Assistant Professor of Education

 

ktipton@usw.edu

Education:

Ed.D., Educational Leadership, University of New England, 2020

M.A., Sp Ed,University of Texas of the Permian Basin, 2014

B.S., Child Development, Walden University, 2011

A.A.S., Early Childhood Development, Kaplan University, 2009

Tipton CV



Dr. LaVerne Ware

Assistant Professor of Education - School Counseling

 

lware@usw.edu

Education:

Ph.D.,Capella University

Ed.S., University of West Georgia

M.Ed., University of Georgia

M.Ed., University of West Georgia

B.S., University of West Georgia



Corina Madrid

Graduate Admissions and Support Director – College of Education

Director of the Office of Special Services

 

833-879-4723 x 707

cmadrid@usw.edu

Education:

M.B.A., University of the Southwest

B.A., University of the Southwest



Dacia Johnson

Director of Undergraduate Admissions and Student Support

Director of International Admissions

Cheer and Dance Coordinator


djohnson@usw.edu

575-492-2149

Education:

M.B.A., University of the Southwest

B.A., University of the Southwest